fly to high


24 Hours of NEWS, Coming Your Way
April 27, 2009, 5:48 pm
Filed under: Johnny's Entertainment, NEWS, Television | Tags:

NEWS will be the hosts of this year’s 24 Hour Television, NTV’s yearly fundraiser that takes donations while broadcasting – you guessed it – 24 hours straight of related television. (It’s pretty much the Japanese form of PBS Telethons for charity.) Pretty much every JE group, including most recently Arashi, have been hosts before; this will be NEWS’ first time. The  program will start August 29th. It’s the 32nd time, and the theme this year is “START!~Ippo wo Fumidasou~” (START! Taking One Step Out).

Producer Matsuoka said NEWS was chosen because “NEWS are active as individuals and as a group. The have the support of young women as well as people of all ages, and with their appeal to the public, they deserve to be the main personalities. NEWS can sing and dance, but they also have a smart image, and through this program I want to show viewers the NEWS that shed sweat and tears just like them.”

Personally, I’m thrilled NEWS is finally getting a chance to have something to do in television! Although they have no experience hosting their own show, I hope they do a great job as hosts.

Also, since it’s 24 Hr TV, there’s bound to be a wide variety of clips and events. I’m hoping for:

– giant NEWS medley sometime in the midnight hours

– Yamapi acting in a touching melodrama

– Tegomass songs!

– NEWS goes and visit people in need of help.

– Kame appears and there is a reprisal performance of Seishun Amigo somewhere.

– A lot of money raised for good causes, thanks to NEWS!

Each member had a comment. A quick and rough and possibly incorrect at parts translation:

Yamashita Tomohisa: Hopefully I can help viewers smile for 24 hours.  I hope what we do will help change the world for the better.

Koyama Keiichiro: Being on 24 Hour Television is one of my dreams. I don’t know what I myself can do, but this is a great program. I always watch this program and is always touched by thoughts of “the value of life, hope, courage.” I’m very happy to be able to be a part of this. 24 Hr TV is summer’s big event and will be the best of your time!

Masuda Takahisa: Becoming the TV personality that children watch on 24 Hour TV, I’m really happy! I’ll do my best to help everyone smile!

Kato Shigeaki: I’m glad to participate in this ledgendary program.  I want to do NEWS proud when I am on this program.

Tegoshi Yuya: 24 Hour TV is on each year, and I hope to learn from my seniors who have hosted this program before. I know there are many viewers, and I look forward to it.

Nishikido Ryo: In the past decade, 24 Hour TV has become ledgendary, to let NEWS be hosting this, I’m honestly very happy.  To make the show the best end of summer, I’ll work hard and do my best.

Information is all on the main site. Definitely something for NEWS fans to look forward to!


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

this is just amazing news! i think NEWS will do a good job cuz they all have hosting experience, not together but separately. tego appeared with itteq the last 2 years but this time the whole group for 24 hrs! yay so happy! hope they get many donations.

Comment by CA

Sugoii ne! That’s a very great honor for the News group to host at 24hr TV. I know that they can make it. They really have awesome personalities. I’ll be looking forward to watch it,too.. I’m very excited for them.. Make everyone smile, influence them and make them proud! Reach their hearts and I know that you can make an inspiration! Ganbatte kudasai ne!

I’m hoping that they’ll be successful in getting donations! v-*^_^*-v Kyaa~!

Comment by Rein-san

24 hours of looking at Shige??? Oh yeah…that’s gonna be a good day!

Comment by Uvie Baby




Leave a Reply

