fly to high


Arashi – One Love
June 12, 2008, 1:20 pm
Filed under: Arashi, Johnny's Entertainment, Jpop | Tags:

Arashi’s next single “One Love” is the theme song to the Hana Yori Dango Final movie. It will be released June 25th, right before the June 28 release of the movie.

“One Love” rounds off the trio of Hana Yori Dango songs the group releases for the franchise. “WISH” did very well, while “Love So Sweet” became a giant success. What about “One Love”?

“One Love” is a midtempo ballad that uses synth, piano and orchestral strains. And, well, it’s Arashi. You know what to expect – sweet pop tune with their 5 person vocals. Personally, I thought the song was just okay, until it reached the chorus – and damn, did it suck me in completely. The minute they sang “hyakunen sakimo” I knew I would love this song.

The single covers are pretty gorgeous this time, albeit a little tacky with the doves and curlicues; the PV has those too, along with the colorful rainbow-hued touches that appear in all Arashi videos now. The PV is interesting – it’s all CGed, even the members themselves, as if everything was filtered with a watercolor filter in photoshop. Not my favorite effect, but it does give the PV a dreamy feeling, which is probably what they are going with.

The song is very fitting for the last installment of Hana Yori Dango. The whole song is kind of a sappy love fest, with lyrics like “even if it were a hundred years past, I swear my love” … sappy, yes, but I still melt. As for the song, I don’t find it as catchy as “Love so Sweet” but better than “WISH.” I love both Arashi and Hana Yori Dango so, quite honestly, I’d love this single either way, it’s just lucky that the song is good. I’m definitely excited for the release of this single (and, subsequently, the movie).🙂


5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i love this single too…😉 love the song, love the PV…🙂

Comment by buzzybug

[…] I guess I have is that it sounded a tiny bit boring in the beginning, and as Fly To High said in their review, the chorus is made of awesome. I also agree that this song is not as catchy as Love So Sweet […]

Pingback by One Love - ARASHI Review! « ºAbsol-ute ºC-ute

wOw im so excited for june 28…

Comment by nicole

The other Hana Yori Dango themes by Arashi were alright, but this one really caught my attention. The chorus is especially catchy😀

Comment by Margaret

This is my favourite Arashi song…along with Truth, Wish, Sakura Sake and many others…LOL…I’m a HUGE fan. Arashi forever!

Comment by GG




Leave a Reply

