fly to high


KAT-TUN – Lips
January 28, 2008, 7:04 pm
Filed under: Johnny's Entertainment, Jpop, KAT-TUN | Tags:

I’m not much of a KAT-TUN fan – I’m not too fond of their image and band dynamics, not to mention that most of their songs didn’t impress me too much. When I heard they were releasing “Lips” for 1 Pound Gospel I couldn’t help but scoff a little – I mean, what a title. And then the single covers were released, in all their white-lipped photoshop glory, and I couldn’t help but scoff a lot.

But I’m going to have to take my scoffs back, because I love this song.

Like the KAT-TUN we all know, their vocals are still so-so when they sing together, although their solos are pretty good. But the composition is brilliant – it’s so driving and powerful and rock. If you gave me the song and told me some rock band made it, I’d probably believe you. And their music video really shows what Johnny’s can put out if they ever feel like ditching the feel good pop – it’s clean, sophisticated, and sexy. They’re not completely free of the cheese factor (weird CG-ed trees, strangely phallic microphones, water spraying, dead animals on their costumes) but at least there’s no space pods or standing around flames while dressed like fashion disasters.

I’m going to go on record and say that this is their best release since “Real Face;” it’s certainly the first time in a long time I’ve genuinely enjoyed a song of their’s.

And also, I do appreciate their stylist. I’m usually not a fangirl of his, but Kame is looking really good with that fedora and eyeliner.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

way to go KATTUN-san.
may this year will bring you guys lots of luck, love, joy, happiness, health and wealth as well.
ganbare!

Comment by linoasuka

agreed- kattun kinda overdoes it with the american punk thing, but nice single!!

Comment by massu_rocks




Leave a Reply

